domingo, 16 de enero de 2011

Top 34 surfers for 2011 World Tour

Forty four is kind of an odd number. It's not like the "Top 20" or "Top 50." Thirty four is equally awkward, but it's what the ASP has worked out to be the perfect number of surfers to compete in its ten events around the world, with a handful of wildcards thrown into each.Either way, the list of tour surfers for 2011 has been finalized and with that came the announcement that Gabe Kling, 30, of Florida and Kai Otton, 31, of Australia, would be awarded the two wildcard slots.Kling qualified for the tour previously but was knocked off after 2007 and fought his way back to requalify in 2009. But following that year's Quiksilver Gold Coast Pro, Kling sustained a Medial Collateral Ligament tear and Medial Meniscus tear in his knee as well as a Distal Tibiofibular sprain in his ankle at the Cold Water Classic in Tasmania.

At the start of 2010, Kling was denied an injury wildcard. He did, however win the ASP Prime Nike 6.0 Lowers Pro to improve his One World ranking, and after the tour dropped 12 surfers at the mid-season cut-off in Tahiti, Kling was granted a slot for the second half of the season. He took down Bobby Martinez at the Hurley Pro in September and also edged out Kalani Chapman at Pipe. But after Dusty Payne beat Mick Fanning to preserve his own tour life, Kling was again on the outs.
Otton was an obvious recipient. Also a rookie in 2007, he finished in the Top 15. He has been a considerable force on tour for several years. Earlier this year, he suffered three bulging disks in his neck and actually had his arm go numb when paddling. Missing the second half of the year, he didn't have the points to requalify. Thanks to the wildcard, he will be back in 2011.
The ASP will again reshuffle the deck after the sixth contest, a new event in New York, in September.

2011 ASP World Tour Surfers
1. Kelly Slater (USA)
2. Jordy Smith (ZAF)
3. Taj Burrow (AUS)
4. Mick Fanning (AUS)
5. Bede Durbidge (AUS)
6. Dane Reynolds (USA)
7. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
7. Owen Wright (AUS)
9. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
10. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
11. C.J. Hobgood (USA)
12. Michel Bourez (PYF)
13. Chris Davidson (AUS)
14. Jadson Andre (BRA)
15. Damien Hobgood (USA)
16. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
17. Brett Simpson (USA)
18. Joel Parkinson (AUS)
19. Taylor Knox (USA)
20. Heitor Alves (BRA)
21. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
22. Bobby Martinez (USA)
23. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
24. Kai Otton (AUS)
25. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
26. Tiago Pires (PRT)
27. Adam Melling (AUS)
28. Daniel Ross (AUS)
29. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
30. Josh Kerr (AUS)
31. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
32. Dusty Payne (HAW)
33. Julian Wilson (AUS)
34. Gabe Kling (USA)